Posted by: Tasha C. Taylor | January 8, 2011

Governor Beebe Makes Two Judicial Appointments to Arkansas Court of Appeals

Governor Mike Beebe announced yesterday two judicial appointments to the Arkansas Court of Appeals.  The two vacancies on the Court of Appeals were created by the 2010 elections of Court of Appeals Judges Karen Baker and Courtney Henry to the Arkansas Supreme Court. See Arkansas Supreme Court Election Results: Judge Karen Baker Wins Election for Position 6; Arkansas Democrat Gazette: Two Appellate Court Races Settled, One Headed to November Runoff.

The Governor appointed Cliff Hoofman, of Enola, to replace Karen Baker as Associate Judge for District 2.  His appointment expires on December 31, 2012.  Hoofman had been appointed by Governor Beebe to the Arkansas Highway Commission in 2007.  Hoofman has resigned from that position and his replacement will soon be announced by the Governor’s office.

Doug Martin, of Fayetteville, was appointed by the Governor as Associate Judge for District 3 on the Arkansas Court of Appeals to replace Courtney Henry.  His appointment expires on December 31, 2012.


  1. […] elected and appointed Arkansas Court of Appeals Judges will be sworn in today at 2:00 p.m.  The ceremony will be […]

  2. […] View the original article here […]

  3. […] Court of Appeals seat for District 2, Position 2, which is currently held by Cliff Hoofman.  Hoofman was appointed to that seat in January of this year when newly elected Justice Karen Baker left that position to begin her term on the Arkansas Supreme […]


%d bloggers like this: